National Popular Vote Compact has 209 Electoral Votes

by | Apr 24, 2024 | Legislation, Opinion, Special Alerts

The State of Maine has joined the National Popular Vote Interstate Compact.
Maine will now award its 4 Electoral College votes to the winner of the national popular vote.

The National Popular Vote Compact would guarantee the Presidency to the candidate who receives the most popular votes across all 50 states and the District of Columbia.

The National Popular Vote Compact retains the Electoral College, but subordinates it to a national vote.
GST reported June 26, 2019 in more detail on this effort and its impact on New Hampshire.

The National Popular Vote Compact has been enacted into law in 18 jurisdictions with 209 electoral votes: DC, DE, HI, ME, RI, VT, CO, CT, MD, MA, MN, NJ, NM, OR, WA, CA, IL, NY.
States that have adopted the Interstate Compact reliability vote Democrat.
The National Popular Vote Compact will take effect when states with 61 more electoral votes enact it.
The bill has passed one house in 7 additional states with 74 electoral votes (AR, AZ, MI, NC, NV, OK, VA)


The following data from 2016 illustrates the allure of National Popular Vote for Democrats:
Clinton’s 2,868,692 popular vote margin came from New York City, Los Angeles County and DC.
California (Clinton +4,269,978) or New York (Clinton +1,736,590) alone would insure a Democrat victory.

If the National Popular Vote compact takes effect, your vote for President will be moot.
Regardless of how New Hampshire citizens vote, the President will be elected by large Democrat states.
As a result, the viability of the New Hampshire Primary, and our political influence, will be lessened.

Posted by GST Chairman Ray Chadwick


Share This